11
Aug
14

s7ep8 – we’re almost home kids

tumblr_na4eeaq2Pc1rkkyz2o2_1280

Aloha TB’ers! Spoilers, such as they are, after the jump…

Well the best thing that can be said about this episode is that it is now one less episode I have to watch. Let’s get this over with.

The iPhone Recap

Previously everything
Sarah Eric cured. Well that was quick
Awesome sexy freaky credits
Bill sookie post coitus ugh Bill dredging up old queen stories bla bla bla
Digging Lettie Mae journey bla bla v drinking rev Tara glow door flashback
Hoyt drunk gf issues
Nu blood delays 4 profit
Jason violet everyone tied up. A little dramatic violet. BOOM. Nice shooting Hoyt
10 year old Tara Lettie Mae ugh ugh ugh buried gun Tara ugh forgive ugh
Hoyt Jessica sweet sad
Eric sookie bill hep v love triangle
Sookie Fangtasia yakuza
Eric fake glamoring
Sookie glow light Sarah dungeon why didn’t sookie take her
Bill dream no face sookie baby
Bill won’t drink Sarah huh?
End credits

Tru Blulz

“Of course it’s happening fast. It’s Sookie. Everything she wants she has to have now” – Pam

Sexxxytime Screencap

Nary a sexxxytime in sight this week, so we’ll replace it with a RIP screencap to one of the sexxxiest vampires, a character the writers really wanted me to care about, and totally did not succeed, because she was just stupid and this show is now stupid.

budged0icae4nge

OK, then

tumblr_na4dv6H6Cl1ql1t0mo3_500

Number of eps remaining fun fact of the week

This week’s number is 2. Two is the number of flying fucks I could care about this show, as in the phrase “HF29 could not give two flying fucks about this show anymore”.

Grade: D. I’m saving the F because I feel there is worse coming. Dream big! Let’s count the stuff I liked. Hmmm. The fake glamoring was cute, maybe the Jessica-Hoyt stuff had some poignancy. And I must admit I am mildly intrigued by Sookie’s no face dream baby. And I guess I appreciate them ending the stupid Violet storyline nice and quick. But it was also stupid. Now let’s dig into the really stupid. LIKE LETTIE MAE AND TARA JESUS FUCKING CHRIST YES I’M IN CAPS LOCK BECAUSE I AM VERY VERY ANGRY. Could there have been a bigger waste of time than that story line? Just to resolve some unresolved issues from Tara’s childhood? And they had to drag that out most of the season? Look, I do not want to belittle domestic abuse or anything, lest I appear insensitive, but holy crap the stupidity of that story is so off the charts. Its stupidity was only matched by Bill refusing the Hep V cure. The fuck? I’d be pleased if he died now. I don’t even want to catalog all the little stupidity, like Bridget going with Jason on a police call, or Sookie just leaving NewMe in a dungeon (and a million Yakuza barely guarding it), Violet’s bizarro speech about a world without wit and intellect, Eric going along with Mr Gus Jr. for profit instead of saving vampires, or oh wait whoops I said I wasn’t going to do that. I just don’t care anymore, and that’s sad. I used to really like this show.

7 Responses to “s7ep8 – we’re almost home kids”


  1. 1 steve
    August 12, 2014 at 9:12 am

    Sheds a silent tear. Allan Ball sucks balls, he did the same thing with six feet under. Its like a Japanese product where the first edition is super Godzilla and once they got you hooked your buying painted Iguanas.
    However its my fervent wish that you do not abandon the post. The series may die but the review must go on.
    Maybe Ray Donovan?

    • August 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm

      thx steve! How about the Leftovers? I am still not sure I like it, but at least there would be shit to talk about

      • 3 steve
        August 13, 2014 at 8:40 pm

        I feel exactly the same although this week we finally have something of a an idea of the notion of WTF is going on.

        Given HBO track record I guess the Leftovers will stay warm for at least five season, although I can not imagine the audience coming back week after week for very intense somewhat interesting well produced nothing ness. They are starting to show some flesh as well!!

        • August 14, 2014 at 8:06 am

          very intense somewhat interesting well produced nothing ness

          wow, I have never seen such an accurate description of that show

          I was already falling in love with the woman who lost her family when she swallowed pills and humped a fake corpse in the last episode, but her nudity this week definitely sealed the deal!

  2. 5 bea.habs.fan
    August 12, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    I agree with Steve. I will miss the recaps and comments more than the show itself. Other than Breaking Bad has any show EVER ended well? writers just seem to lose steam somewhere around season 3 (that’s if I even manage to get to season 2) and things just draaaaaaaaaaaggggggggggggg.
    29 I’m impress you’re going with a D. I understand the concept of keeping the F but who says you can’t go further down the alphabet. If there can be negative numbers, why not negative letters?
    As for new series, I’m on the fence with the Leftovers but have hope for The Knick: drug-addled doctor working miracles in the 1900s – plenty of gore and weird new surgical instruments (although when it comes to weird surgical instruments, nothing can come close to the ones in Dead Ringers)

    • August 13, 2014 at 8:27 am

      I will miss writing these recaps! Thx bea!

      I’ve heard good things about the Knick. And Dead Ringers was awesome! I am a Cronenberg fanboy though

      • 7 bea.habs.fan
        August 13, 2014 at 1:45 pm

        funny – I’m ahuge Cronenberg fan myself. Methinks you may be a copy of me (a poor one obviously what with you being a guy)


Leave a Reply

